Lifetime Achievement Award Architect Robert Ivy

Executive Vice President and CEO of the American Institute of Architects, Robert Ivy, was one of the latest recipients of the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award, which was given to him by the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters. This was the first time that this type of honor was presented to an architect. The former U.S. navy officer has been in a leadership role at the AIA since 2011 and has won several other awards during his long career in the architectural design industry.

In 1996, Robert Ivy became the Editor-in-Chief of a publication called Architectural Record, and the Vice President and Editorial Director of McGraw-Hill Construction Media. For his achievements in his previous executive positions, he received the Crain Award in 2009, which is considered to be the highest recognition from the American Business Media, and McGraw-Hill gave him the Management Excellence Award in 1998. He was also presented with the Master Architect Award in 2010 by the Alpha Rho Chi fraternity. This honor was previously given to other famous architects like I.M. Pei and Mies van der Rohe.

Robert Ivy, who is a Mississippi native, graduated with a BA degree in English from Sewanee: The University of the South, and he also attended Tulane University and received a Master of Architecture degree. In addition to his expertise in construction, he is an author who wrote a biography, which was entitled Fay Jones: Architect. The book was published in 2001 and is now in its 3rd edition. The company he currently works for, The American Institute of Architects, or the AIA, was founded in 1857, and it now has more than 200 international, state and local chapters. He is currently the CEO of AIA. The goal of the business is to design buildings, neighborhoods and communities that are secure, valuable and healthy.

After winning the Lifetime Achievement Award for excellence in his field of work, Robert Ivy expressed how much it meant to him to be receiving it from his home state. He is now among other famous Noel Polk Award winners like actors, writers, singers and painters such as Morgan Freeman, Leontyne Price and Walter Anderson.

Follow Robert Ivy on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Post Navigation